TechAmerica Foundation : TechAmerica Foundation – State & Local Government Cloud Commission (SLG-CC)

TechAmerica Foundation – State & Local Government Cloud Commission (SLG-CC)

The Commission is being led by Tarkan Maner, President and CEO of Wyse Technology. Maner is joined by vice-chairs David L. Cohn, Ph.D. Program Director, Smarter Cloud, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center and Cisco’s Public Sector CTO, Daniel Kent.

Commission Leadership

Tarkan MannerTarkan Maner, Chairman
President, CEO and Chief Customer Advocate
Wyse Technology

Daniel KentDaniel Kent, Vice-Chairman
Public Sector CTO and Director of Solutions
Cisco Systems, Inc.

David CohnDavid Cohn, Vice-Chairman
Director, Business Informatics
IBM’s T.J. Watson Research Center

Leadership Quotes on SLG – CC

Commission Chairman Tarkan Maner, President and CEO, Wyse Technology: “The pressures of a struggling economy, reduced budgets, and the need for greater efficiency have led state, local and federal governments globally to promote cloud computing as a solution whenever possible,” said Tarkan Maner,. “For government agencies at all levels, cloud computing is a concept whose time has come. As Wyse, we look forward to collaborating with Tech America and other industry-leading organizations to help states and local governments take advantage of cloud computing solutions to drive optimized services for all citizens.”

Vice Chairman David L. Cohn, Ph.D., Program Director, Smarter Cloud, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center: “Cloud computing reduces IT complexity, improves flexibility and reduces costs while promoting collaboration within and across governments. IBM, a leader in this technology, is excited to help drive the transition to more efficient and effective constituent services.”

Vice Chairman Daniel Kent, CTO Public Sector, Cisco Systems, Inc: “Cloud computing holds incredible promise for our state and local governments. Cloud in its’ various forms, SaaS, IaaS, public and private will provide the vehicle to cut IT costs, reduces complexity, and improves agency agility. As agencies transform their IT to this new paradigm, a portfolio of clouds will be leveraged and utilized to meet applications needs and agency policy. This is an exciting time in IT and Cisco is excited to help our government customers along this journey.”

Commission Members for SLG – CC

James Acquaviva
Vice President, Product Strategy
Boston, MA

JP Balakrishnan
Vice President, CTO Cloud
Infosys Public Services
Lisle, IL

William (Bill) Clark
Chief Technology Officer
CA Technologies
Herndon, VA

John Considine
Burlington, MA

Tom Davies
Senior Vice President
ACS, A Xerox Company
Fairfax, VA

Robert Geiger
Vice President Engineering
TransLattice, Inc.
Santa Clara, CA

Rick Herrmann
Director, State & Local Government and Advocacy
Washington, DC

Scott McIntyre
Director of State and Local Government
Mountain View, CA

PG Menon
Director, Solutions Architecture
San Jose, CA

Mike Moore
Director, State and Local Government IT Practice
San Diego, CA

Jack O’Connor
Senior Solutions Architect
Fallbrook, CA

Kevin Paschuck
Vice President, Public Sector & Canada
RightNow Technologies
Reston, VA

Steven Peacock
Vice President Infrastructure Optimization and
Cloud Services, Federal Systems Group, Unisys Corporation
Reston, VA

Steven Perkins
Managing Director
Grant Thornton
Alexandria, VA

W. Wyatt Starnes
Vice President Advanced Concepts
Harris Corporation
Portland, OR

Jim Sweeney
Herndon, VA

Aldona Valicenti
Vice President, Government Markets
Lexington, KY

Andrew Walker
42six Solutions
Columbia, MD

Dave Asprey
Vice President Cloud Security
Trend Micro
Cupertino, CA

Ashok Balasubramanian
Practice Director, Cloud Labs
Troy, MI

Paul Clemmons
Deloitte Consulting LLP
San Jose, CA

Winston Damarillo
Founder, CEO
Manhattan Beach, CA

Kevin Hanes
Executive Director
Dell Services Product Group, Infrastructure and Cloud Services
Round Rock, TX

Richard W. Johnson
Chief Technology Officer
Lockheed Martin IS&GS
Gaithersburg, MD

Stuart McKee
Chief Technology Officer, State & Local Government
Redmond, WA

Ned Miller
Director of Public Sector Strategy
Symantec Corporation
Herndon, VA

Kim Niederman
8×8, Inc.
Sunnyvale, CA

Bob Otterberg
Chief Technology Officer
HP Enterprise Services
Sarasota, FL

Gareth Patterson
Asst. Vice President, Cloud Computing
Cognizant Technology Solutions
San Ramon, CA

Bethann Pepoli
EMC Corporation
Canton, MA

Sean Rhody
Capgemini Government Solutions
Herndon, VA

John Stuhrenberg
Vice President – Government/Education East
Atlanta, GA

Bill Taylor
Panasonic System Networks
Secaucus, NJ

Jacqueline Vanacek
Vice President and Cloud Computing Evangelist
Palo Alto, CA

Sean Jennings
Vice President, Solutions Architecture
Bethesda, MD

Government Advisors for SLG – CC

Kevin Acker
Chief IT Architect, Department of Administration
Department of Enterprise Technology
State of Wisconsin

Tom Charkut
Software Services Manager
City of Lakewood, Colorado

Adrian Farley
Chief Technology Officer
California Technology Agency
State of California

Kyle Hilmer
State Information Technology Services Division
Department of Administration
State of Montana

Gary Lambert
Assistant Secretary for
Operational Services  
Commonwealth of Massachusetts

Dan Lohrmann
Chief Technology Officer
State of Michigan

Sean McSpaden
State Deputy Chief Information Officer
State of Oregon

Hugh Miller
Chief Technology Officer
City of San Antonio, TX

Jim Peterson
CTO, Bloomington, IL School District and IlliniCloud

Dugan Petty
Chief Information Officer
State of Oregon

Dr. Alan R. Shark
Executive Director/CEO
Public Technology Institute

Gina C. Tomlinson
Chief Technology Officer, Department of Technology
City and County of San Francisco

Greg Wass
Chief Information Officer
Cook County, Illinois

For more information about the SLG Cloud Commission or other related activities, please contact Carol Henton, Vice President, SLG at or 650.357.7728 or Michael Kerr, Sr. Director, SLG at or 703.284.5324.