TechAmerica Foundation : Commission on the Leadership Opportunity in U.S. Deployment of the Cloud (CLOUD<sup>2</sup>)

Commission on the Leadership Opportunity in U.S. Deployment of the Cloud (CLOUD2)

TechAmerica Foundation has comprised a Commission of thought leaders to serve on our Commission on the Leadership Opportunity in U.S. Deployment of the Cloud (CLOUD2). The commission’s three-month mandate is to provide the Obama Administration with recommendations for how government should deploy cloud technologies and for public policies that will help drive U.S. innovation in the cloud.

The commission will make recommendations for how government should deploy cloud technologies and address policies that might hinder U.S. leadership of the cloud in the commercial space. Recommendations for government deployment will be presented to Federal Chief Information Officer Vivek Kundra. Commercial-facing recommendations will be shared with Commerce Secretary Gary Locke and Commerce Under Secretary Pat Gallagher.

Commission Leadership

The Commission is comprised of 71 experts from industry and academia, comprised of forty-five commissioners from the public sector and twenty-one from the commercial sector:

Marc BenioffMarc Benioff, Co-Chairman
Chairman and CEO

Michael CapellasMichael Capellas, Co-Chairman
VCE, The Virtual Computing
Environment Company

Dan ReedDan Reed, Vice-Chairman
Corporate Vice President
Technology Policy and Strategy
and eXtreme Computing Group

Jim SheafferJim Sheaffer, Vice-Chairman
North American Public Sector

Michael NelsonMichael Nelson, Academic Representative
Visiting Professor of
Internet Studies
Georgetown University

John C. MalleryJohn C. Mallery, Academic Representative
Research Scientist, Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory (CSAIL)
Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)

Commission Members

Teresa Weipert

Barry Leffew
Vice President, Public Sector

Eric Marks
CEO and President
AgilePath Corporation

Teresa H. Carlson
Vice President, Global Public Sector
Amazon, AWS

Phil Horvitz
Chief Technology Officer

John Potter
Vice President

Greg Baroni
Chief Executive Officer
Attain, LLC

Kia Behnia
Chief Technology Officer
BMC Software

Michael Isman
Vice President
Booz Allen Hamilton

Dave Stevens
Chief Technology Officer
Brocade Communications Inc

Adam Famularo
General Manager, Cloud Computing Business
CA Technologies

John Weinschenk
President and CEO
Cenzic Inc.

Gregg Mossburg
Senior Vice President
CGI Federal

Stephen Alexander
Senior Vice President and Chief Technology Officer
Ciena Corporation

Daniel Kent
CTO Federal Systems
Cisco Systems

Kurt Roemer
Chief Security Strategist

Jim Reavis
Executive Director
Cloud Security Alliance

Robin Lineberger
CEO Deloitte Federal Government Services
Deloitte LLP

Timothy Matlack
President & CEO
Delta Solutions and Technologies, Inc.

Branko Primetica
Vice President

Jeff Nick
Senior Vice President and Chief Technology Officer
EMC Corporation

Grady Summers
Ernst & Young

Bernie Wu
Vice President Global Business Development
FalconStor Software

Ray Muslimani
President and CEO

Stanley Tyliszczak
Senior Director, Technology (CTO)
General Dynamics Information Technology

Alan Davidson
Director of Public Policy
Google, Inc.

Steven Perkins
Managing Director and Chief of Strategy, Global Government Advisory
Grant Thornton

Sterling Phillips
CEO and President

Wyatt Starnes
Vice President Advanced Concepts
Harris Corporation

Jeff Bergeron
Chief Technology Officer

Todd Ramsey
General Manager, IBM Public Sector
IBM Corporation

Suesh Shenoy
Executive Vice President, Marketing
IMC, Inc.

Juan Carlos Soto
Senior VP and GM, Informatica Cloud and B2B
Informatica Corporation

Daniel Matthews
Senior Vice-President for Strategic Programs
Information Innovators Inc.

JP Balakrishnan
Associate Vice President

Brad Maltz
Chief Technology officer
International Computerware, Inc.

Hemi Zucker
Chief Executive Officer
j2 Global Communications, Inc.

Albert Lulushi
Chief Information Officer
L-3 Communications

Nick Mehta
Chief Executive Officer

Richard W. Johnson
Chief Technology Officer
Lockheed Martin IS&GS

Michael Van Chau
Vice President
MEI Technologies, Inc.

Gregory Gardner
Chief Architect, Defense and Intelligence Solutions

Keith Glennan
Vice President, Strategy & Technology
Northrop Grumman Corporation

Edward M.L. Peters
Chief Executive Officer
OpenConnect Systems

Wolfgang Kandek
Chief Technology Officer

Diana L. Gowen
Senior Vice President/General Manager
Qwest Government Services, Inc.

Lew Moorman
President, Cloud and Chief Strategy Officer
Rackspace Hosting, Inc.

Jim Whitehurst
President and Chief Executive Officer
Red Hat, Inc.

William A Davies
Executive Director, Public Policy
Research In Motion Limited

Greg Gianforte
Chief Executive Officer
RightNow Technologies

Doug Wagoner
Senior Vice President – Homeland & Civilian Solutions

Sanjay Poonen
SAP Global Solutions and Go-To-Market

Keith Collins
Senior Vice President and Chief Technology Officer

David M. Shacochis
Vice President, Global Public Sector

Paul Hurley
Chief Executive Officer

Steve Sieke
Senior Vice President
Serco North America

Lance Crosby
CEO & President
SoftLayer Technologies

Peter Csathy
Chief Executive Officer
Sorenson Media

James ‘Bo’ Slaughter
Principal Architect
SRA International

Ashok Balasubramanian
Head Cloud Computing Center of Excellence

Evan Burfield
Chairman & CEO

Alan Chow
Chief Customer Officer
Teradata Corporation

Susan Zeleniak
Vice President
Verizon Business

James “Rick” White
Chief Technology Officer
Wyle Information Systems

Ken Stephens
Senior Vice President Strategy & Innovation (including Cloud)

View a list of the Deputy Commissioners.

Learn more about the Commission on the Leadership Opportunity in U.S. Deployment of the Cloud (CLOUD2) or by contacting Jennifer Kerber at or 703.284.5337.